Former MA student Timothy Schmele receives Luigi Russolo music prize

Timothy Schmele, 2010 MA in Music Technology graduate, has received 1st Prize at the 2012 Luigi Russolo electro-acoustic music prize:

The Russolo competition is one of the most prestigious contests for electro-acoustic composition. It began in 1979 as a homage to the painter and composer Luigi Russolo, the founder of noise music. Initially and over 40 years, the Concorso Internazionale Luigi Rusolo, was organised by Gian Franco Maffina and Rossana Maggia. After a short break, the competition returned in 2010 under the direction of Studio Forum (Annecy) within the Bruit de la neige Festival in collaboration with Gràcia Territori Sonor (LEM Festival, Barcelona).

This year, the contest will be held in two different locations, la Soierie de Faverges (France) and the Museum of Modern Art of Barcelona (MACBA, Spain).

The Luigi Russolo jury is composed of Rossana Maggia, Jean Louis Belmonte, Philippe Blanchard, Paul Clouvel, Pierre Coppier, Pierre Delnieppe, Pierre Jolivet, Sebastià Jovani, Renaud Martelet, Victor Nubla, Dmitry Vasilyev and Lucy Tcherno. The meeting took place on the 18th May 2012 at the centre culturel de la
Soierie as a part of the Bruit de la neige Festival. The 2012 edition of the competition received 69 compositions that arrived from 20 countries. The jury highlighted the great quality of the pieces and had much difficulty to generate the results. Finally after substantial deliberation, a list of 11 finalists was selected. The result is as follows:

1er Prix Russolo: « The common Perkins Scream » de Timothy Schmele (Germany)
2ème Prix Russolo: « Disembodied » de Steven Snethkamp (USA)
3ème Prix Russolo: « Plastic bourrée » de Carlos David Perales Cejudo (Spane)